According to legend in 1061 the Lady of the Manor, Richeldis de Faverches, was inspired by Our Lady in a dream to build a Shrine - a replica of the Holy House in Nazareth where the Annunciation took place. Before its destruction at the Reformation, many pilgrims, including Royalty, visited the Shrine. Little remains of the ancient Shrine, but its site is marked on the lawn in the Abbey Grounds in the village.
Pilgrims on route to the ancient Shrine would worship at small wayside chapels, such as the Slipper Chapel which was built in the hamlet of Houghton-le-Dale during the fourteenth century. In 1897, the Slipper Chapel was restored to Catholic use and this little chapel became the National Shrine of Our Lady.
The complex on which the Slipper Chapel sits also boasts a beautiful barn-style Chapel of Reconciliation which can seat up to 350 people for services, a Bookshop which offers a wide variety of religious goods and a mail order service, and a Tearoom for a meal or a welcome cup of tea for visitors.
TF 920353 52.88098 0.85316
From the A148 take the B1105 (Wells) road, but follow the signs for 'Little Walsingham (light vehicles only)'. Just before entering Walsingham Village, take the left turn marked 'Slipper Chapel and Shrine'. (Avoid any roads saying 'Unbridged Ford').
By Public Transport:
Norwich rail station and King's Lynn rail station are both c27 miles from the Slipper Chapel. National Express from London: Take the Cromer coach which stops at Fakenham (5 miles away), then taxi or bus.
- Disabled access
- Disabled toilets
- Facilities for educational visits
- Picnic site
- Public toilets
- Accepts groups
- Children welcome
- Disabled access
- Guided tours for groups
- Smoking allowed
- Facilities for hearing impaired